A new CFPB study revealed, "Between our 2021 and 2022 surveys, use of payday loans, installment loans, and car title loans increased dramatically nationwide! Demand for car title loans, in particular, rose nearly 3%."
The financial stability of Black and Hispanic consumers, renters, and under-40s suffered dramatically between 2021 and 2022, said the CFPB.
The anticipated recession and higher unemployment in 2023 do not bode well for this demographic!
“Despite a tight labor market, pandemic-era relief programs, including expanded unemployment benefits and stimulus checks, and lower consumer spending, financial well-being has returned to where it was in 2019,” the CFPB report revealed.
“Unemployment remains low in December 2022, but many consumers are not prepared financially for unemployment, despite building large cash buffers and paying down debts during the first years of the pandemic. If they lost their main source of income, 37 percent of households could not cover expenses for longer than one month by using all sources, including savings, selling assets, borrowing, or seeking help from friends or family; 51 percent of Black and Hispanic households could not cover their expenses for longer than a month.
During a downturn, unemployment often lasts more than one month, and unemployment benefits can take several weeks or more to be deposited, leaving many households financially vulnerable to an unemployment period.”
[As a result, we lenders are tightening up our underwriting considerably. This strategy is reflected in our “loan-to-value” [LTV] metrics, our “ability to repay” calculations, and multiple KPIs as discussed in our Manual focused on “Lending to the Masses.” Car title loans, installment loans, and payday loans.]
Credit card debt has increased since June 2021 after falling early during Covid for all income groups.
“Meanwhile, one in eight households experienced lost income from unemployment or reduced work hours. Even more common, 34 percent of households experienced a major unexpected expense from vehicle repair or replacement, 31 percent a significant unexpected medical expense, 30 percent a computer or mobile phone replacement or repair, and 27 percent major household repairs.”
You buy leads. Should you buy $2.00 leads? $10 leads? $50 leads? $100 leads? $185 leads? [The average CAC [Customer Acquisition Cost in our industry is $185.00]
What’s the impact on your loan portfolio if you convert 8% of $50 leads vs 3% of $10 leads?
What if you increased your “reacts” to 65% vs. 42%?
What if you could hire an offshore VA [Virtual Assistant] at $200/month and work to increase your organic leads to 20/day vs. your anticipated 5/day?
What would be the impact on your portfolio if you purchased 150 leads daily at $8 with a conversion rate of 4% vs. 100 leads daily at $50 each with a conversion rate of 18%?
What is the impact on your portfolio if you increased your average loan principal to $425 vs. $385? To $500? $800? Whatever?
What is the impact on your portfolio if you decreased your FPDs [1st time Payment defaults} from 30% to 12%?
What’s the impact on your P & L if you increase your employee average hourly rate from $12.50/hr to $15.25/hr
What if you bring your call center in-house?
What if you add online/storefront title loans to your product offering? Say an average $1200 loan principal with a term of 6 months at $20/$100 loan principal? At $25/$100 loan principal for 30-day terms?
What if you offered a 36% APR unsecured loan product? An 80% APR? A 120% APR?
What if you implemented a formal referral program and spiffed your employees $25/funded loan? Spiffed customers $50/title loan?
What if your ACH fees increased from $1.50/each to $1.75/each?
What is the impact on your portfolio and P & L if your LMS [Loan Mngt. Software] provider increases its monthly fee from $150/month to $200/month & $1.00 per transaction?
What if your ACH fees increased from $1.50/each to $1.75/each?
What is the impact on your portfolio and P & L if your LMS [Loan Mngt. Software] provider increases its monthly fee from $150/month to $200/month & $1.00 per transaction?
And on and on and on… Only your imagination limits your possibilities!
The purpose of what-if scenarios is not to predict the future, but to influence it.
Plug-in different scenarios into our “Financial Modeling Projections Tool.” Develop a plan to improve those projections and execute them.
Your financial projection estimates your business’s future revenue and expenses based on various inputs. Our financial modeling tool enables you to “play” with these inputs.
Invest Now! Only $50.00. Delivered to your Inbox. Visa, M/C, PayPal…
Cash advance and payday loan businesses can offer superior returns for an entrepreneur focused on lending money to the masses.
Sure! We charge what are perceived to be high-interest rates because our customer acquisition costs and our default rates can be SCARY.
What to do? You simply build these metrics into your business plan.
You integrate with state-of-the-art customer acquisition channels, loan management software, and underwriting platforms.
The interest rates we charge enable us to offer the 60% of USA households living paycheck to paycheck access to money when faced with a sudden financial challenge.
Do you know that 38% of households earning $100,000/annually are living paycheck to paycheck as well?
In today’s economic environment, credit card companies are charging 29.95% APR. AND THEY HAVE LEVERAGE! Credit card companies report consumer payment history to the three major credit bureaus. We do not!
Cash advance, payday loan, installment loan and car title loan companies can be profitable. However, it is essential to note that the profitability of a payday loan/consumer loan business will vary depending on many factors, such as:
The amount of competition in the area.
The demographics of the area served.
Are you funding loans via the Internet, a brick-and-mortar or a “blended” model?
Internet-originated consumer personal loan defaults are generally double that of storefront locations.
The efficiency of the business’s operations. Meaning customer acquisition costs, underwriting costs, servicing costs, processing costs, and collections costs…
The overall state of the economy.
The state the consumer/borrower resides in.
Many states have regulations that limit the interest rates that payday loan businesses can charge, which will impact the business’s profitability.
For example, short-term consumer loan rates for borrowers residing in Florida are $10/$100 loaned. On the other hand, Texas is as much as $30/$100 loaned. California payday loans are $15/$100 loaned.
The ROI is strongly impacted by the types of loan products the Lender offers to the 60%+ of USA adults living paycheck to paycheck.
Personal loans
Car title loans
Installment loans
Amortized loans
Loans that depend on tips, accelerated ACH deposits
BNPL products that depend on merchant fees to earn a profit
Other
[A recent study revealed Buy-Now-Pay-Later [BNPL] companies are charging an average 380% APR when all the extra fees, tips, ACH acceleration fess… are computed!]
Achieving a 30% gross on your street money is typical. Many balance sheet lenders earn more. Many inefficient lenders earn less. As they say, “It depends!”
You’ve got to check out these new commercials by Chuck Brennan’s Dollar Loan Center!
Chuck Brennan is a GOAT* in our “Business of Lending to the Masses!”
From humble beginnings, Chuck launched his first 100+ consumer loan locations in 1998.
Chuck has provided leadership & phenomenal inspiration to lenders, marketers, kids rock-n-roll…
He even built a fabulous Arena on the outskirts of Las Vegas dubbed “The Dollar Loan Center!” [Click on 2nd Image below]
Chuck’s a special guy! A FORCE in our industry.
Now, with Chuck’s blessings, I give you access to his latest Dollar Loan Center Commercials.
I HIGHLY recommend you share these 20 short clips with your marketing department. Get them in a room for “idea sex.” For example, if you’re in the SouthEast, a NASCAR theme could work. Texas? FOOTBALL!
Watch “Loan Approval Machine” on YouTube [Access to all 20 commercials.]
Starting a car title loan business can be a great way to make money and be of service. By ensuring you have everything in place and are prepared for the challenges of owning such a small business, you’ll be able to get off on the right foot and make sure your new venture succeeds!
Research the industry.
You can start learning about the industry by reading books, magazines, and articles on car title loans. Most importantly, GET A CAR TITLE LOAN! Also, talk to people in the industry, especially existing car title lenders. Even if you’re planning an online auto title loan business, if possible, visit stores offering title loans, Take photos of the various state disclosures, licenses, and fee breakdowns typically posted in every car title loan storefront location. You can find this info on websites as well. [And, of course, https://thebusinessoflending.com/297-00/, in our 500+ page PDF Manual.]
To learn more about your competition, you should look at their websites and see how they market themselves. You can also get information from Google Adwords or Bing Ads that will provide you with data about keywords related to your business. You can use this information for keyword research to optimize your website and make sure that it ranks well on search engine result pages (SERPs).
You should also educate yourself about your customers so that you know what their needs are going into the business. This will help ensure you can fulfill these needs when providing services such as funding car title loans and other related products or services like title transfers.
Set your goals.
Before you start your car title loan business, it’s important to set goals. You can’t know whether or not you are achieving your business goals unless you have a clear idea. In the title loan industry, we refer to these as KPIs. [Key Performance Indicators]
There are two things wrong with setting goals before starting a car title loan business:
Some people think that it is not necessary because the goal will remain the same throughout their career in this field, and this makes them miss out on opportunities that could have benefited them greatly. This is true only if their goal was “be successful,” which leaves room for interpretation by each individual as long as they were able to achieve success as defined by them.
Other people get so caught up trying to achieve other people’s goals. They forget about their unique talents, strengths, and weaknesses which may make all the difference between success and failure when starting up something new like opening up an auto title loan company!
Know the laws.
There are several different laws that, if not followed, could result in serious penalties. For example, when it comes to how much money you can charge or how quickly your borrower must pay back your loan, each state has its own specific rules. It’s important to know these laws and whether they apply to your business, and how they would affect its operations.
Make sure you fully understand the regulations regarding licensing requirements for title loan businesses in your area and state before starting one yourself. There are rarely zero laws where you operate! That’s true for online and storefront auto title loan businesses. Research what other states have done regarding title loan legislation and mimic something similar for yourself (i.e., don’t just copy from another state’s code). If licensing requirements exist but aren’t enforced, then contact officials so they can start enforcing them! After all, YOU paid for your state license, bond…
For example, Texas requires title loan lenders to act as Credit Access Businesses – CABs. It’s crazy, but lenders cannot loan their own money! They must collaborate with a “3rd Party Lender.” [PS: Our Manual, “How to Loan Money to the Masses,” covers this thoroughly!] Know too that some Texas cities have passed city ordinances. You can’t legally offer car title loans in these cities. Solution? Offer car title loans online or set up your storefront in the county. [Again, our Manual covers how to operate in Texas & every other state in which this loan product is legal. ] Conversely, California passed a <36% APR cap on title loans! Every state is different. [If this were easy, everyone would do it 🙂 ]
Develop a plan.
As you begin your car title loan business, it’s important to develop a comprehensive plan. A well-thought-out plan will help you avoid mistakes and ensure that you are on the right path toward success.
Here are the critical components of your plan:
Loan product
Target market
Competition
Strengths/weaknesses compared to the competition
Financial situation (i.e., how much capital do I have?)
Risk tolerance (I can tolerate risk if it means I’ll be more successful in five years)
Exit strategy(s)
Check out our “Pro Forma Modeling Excel Tool” here: Pro Forma
Choose your location.
The online car title loan model is kicking butt today. Tremendous new tech platforms and GPS devices are revolutionizing our industry. Instant bank verification, same-day funding, AI-powered collection tools, loan management software, and income validation platforms… make lending money online enticing and easier than ever before.
Choosing a physical location for your car title loan business is one of the most important decisions you can make. You want to ensure that your location is accessible to customers and near a busy street or large parking lot. You also want to choose a safe area where there’s not much crime and an area in which many people live, work, and drive around.
The best locations are those with large populations. They have plenty of potential customers who need money fast because they are short on cash after paying their monthly bills, need car repairs, gas to get to work, rent…
Work up a budget.
Before you begin the process of opening your own car title loan business, it’s important to create a budget. This will help you determine how much money you need to invest in your business and how much profit you can expect. To create a good budget for your car title loan business:
List all expenses that are related to running your car title loan business. Don’t forget to include costs associated with equipment, software, supplies, marketing expenses, employee salaries, and training costs, insurance coverage (if any), state regulations on how much interest rates must be charged on loans—and anything else that may come up during the course of owning a successful auto title lender!
Calculate how much money each month will be spent going forward based on these estimates for operating expenses. Once this number is determined, it should be compared against projected revenue from loans made over time so that there’s an accurate picture of what may happen during different stages of startup operation as well as future growth plans if needed or desired later down the road when demand begins increasing dramatically due to word-of-mouth advertising strategies being implemented effectively not only locally but regionally and online as well. [Again, our “Pro Forma Modeling Excel Tool” is perfect for this!]
Marketing.
Marketing is a key component of running a successful title loan business, but it’s often overlooked. Instead, businesses believe that once they have the product or service ready, all they need to do is advertise, and customers will come. That might be true for some businesses—but for others, like car title loans where people are putting up their cars as collateral and can’t afford any payment defaults or late payments, there needs to be more than just advertising. You also need to build trust with your clients so that when you tell them about your plan to help them get out from under their financial burden and pay back the loan, they believe in what you’re saying and follow through on it.
There are many ways that marketing can be done—from advertising on radio stations with commercials at the beginning of each hour (or whatever time interval) promoting your business; having billboards placed strategically throughout town; posting flyers at local grocery stores and libraries; sending direct mailings via snail mail and emailing, customer referral rewards… There are countless ways to market depending on what business model fits best into yours (i.e., traditional brick-and-mortar store vs. online eCommerce).
To run a successful car title loan business, you must know all its aspects.
To run a successful car title loan business, you must know all its workings. You need to know the laws and regulations that apply to your business. You should know how to develop a plan for starting up and running your car title loan business. You also need to have knowledge of the latest technology for car title loan lenders and acquire car title loan customers by using social media marketing techniques like GMB [Google My Business], Facebook ads, and Google Adwords. [NOTE: several social media platforms do not allow subprime lending ads for loan products that exceed 36% caps! Workarounds exist, and we discuss them in our 500+ page Manual, “How to Start & Improve a Consumer Loan Business.] You must understand how things work so that you can underwrite car title loans effectively with minimal risk of your time and capital.
PS: We have a LONG LIST of resources focused on “lending to the masses” here: Resources
Conclusion
Don’t be afraid to ask questions, and don’t be shy about taking advice from others. You may have a lot of business knowledge already, but remember that there are always new things to learn—and other people who can teach you. Don’t let your pride stand in the way of this opportunity for growth!
Finally, INVEST IN YOURSELF! And always be learning!
A copy of all organization documents is required to be filed with the Illinois Secretary of State and a copy of the filing of assumed business name with the appropriate County Clerk’s office if a sole proprietorship.
“Supplemental Application” as provided in the application packet and credit report of:
the proprietor, if the applicant is an individual
every partner, if the applicant is a partnership
the President, Secretary, Executive and Senior Vice Presidents, Directors, and individuals owning more than 25% of the corporate stock, if the applicant is a corporation; and
the manager, if the applicant is a limited liability company
Most recent year-end and quarter-end financial statements, or opening statements for new corporations, completed according to Generally Accepted Accounting Principals and certified by the original signature of the applicant, President, or manager of limited liability, or partner thereof. The balance sheet must contain only business-related items and demonstrate a net equity (total assets minus total liabilities) of $30,000.
Original $50,000 Surety Bond in favor of the Director of the Division of Financial Institutions, signed and sealed by the applicant and Attorney-in-Fact of the bonding company.
Appointment of Attorney-in-Fact for Service of Process
Photographs of both the inside and outside of the proposed location
Business Plan detailing the nature, amount, and term of loans to be made and types of security that will be taken
A list of all states where the applicant is licensed to issue Payday Loans. If the said license has been withdrawn, refused, canceled, or suspended in any other state, please state the specifics surrounding this event
Information Form as provided in the application packet
A check in the amount of $1000 forwarded to the Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation to serve as a license fee. Fees are not refundable.
A request for authorization of any other business to be conducted at the licensed location
If requesting an Other Business Authorization, please forward a separate check to the Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation in the amount of $100 per Other Business Authorization (OBA) requested. NOTE: Only one OBA is issued to a company to cover all licensed locations. This fee is non-refundable.
Example Illinois Payday Loan License
Please return the completed application and related fees to the address list below:
Illinois Department of Financial & Professional Regulation
Division of Financial Institutions
Consumer Credit Section
100 W. Randolph St. Suite 9-100
Chicago, IL 60601
Office Use Only
Log No.___________
Check #___________
Fee Slip__________
STATE OF ILLINOIS
DEPARTMENT OF FINANCIAL & PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
DIVISION OF FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS
APPLICATION FOR PAYDAY LENDER LICENSE
PAYDAY LOAN REFORM ACT
Application is hereby made to the Director of Financial Institutions for a license to
engage in the business under the provisions of the Illinois Payday Loan Reform Act.
Full Name of Applicant:_______________________________________________
If the entity is a corporation, State of Incorporation:______________________________________
Is applicant licensed to issue Payday Loans in any other State or Territory of the S.? ___________________
IF Yes, provide a list of the States.
At any time has the applicant entity listed above had its license cancelled or suspended in any other State or Territory of the S.? _____________________
If Yes, provide full details on a separate sheet.
At any time has the applicant ever had an application for a license to issue Payday Loans withdrawn or refused in any other State or Territory of the S.? ________________
If Yes, provide full details on a separate sheet.
If the entity is a foreign corporation, the date, and number of Charter in Illinois:
_________________
Date Number
Page 1 of 2
14.______ The Proposed site is not within one mile of a horse race track subject to the Illinois Horse Racing Act of 1975, within one mile of a facility at which gambling is conducted under the Riverboat Gambling Act, within one mile of the location at which a riverboat subject to the Riverboat Gambling Act docks, or within one mile of any State of Illinois or the United States military base or naval installation.
OR
______ The location was already in existence as a payday loan business as of June 1, 2005.
Does the applicant/entity maintain any other licenses issued by the Department of
Financial and Professional Regulation? ____________
If YES, please list type of license and license number:
Describe any other business that will be conducted at this location other than the business of making loans under the Payday Loan Reform Act.
under penalties of perjury, I declare that I have examined the application and all supporting documents submitted by me in connection therewith, and to the best of my knowledge, they are true, correct, and complete.
__________________
(Signature of Applicant) Date________
STATE OF ILLINOIS
DEPARTMENT OF FINANCIAL & PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
DIVISION OF FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS
SUPPLEMENTAL APPLICATION PAYDAY LENDER LICENSE
All answers must be TYPED or legibly PRINTED. All questions must be answered.
From To Company Name:_________________________________________________________
Company Address:______________________________________________________________________
Position Held:________________________________________________________________________
Principal Duties:_____________________________________________________________________
In the past 10 years, have you ever been convicted of a felony?
Yes No_____
If yes, provide on a separate sheet full details, including a summary, the
the court, the presiding judge(s), and the title and document number.
In the past 10 years, have you been a party to any material litigation?
Yes No_____
If yes, provide on a separate sheet full details, including a summary, the
court, presiding judge(s) and the title and document number.
Under penalties of perjury, I declare that I have examined the application and all supporting documents submitted by me in connection therwith, and to the best of my knowledge they are true, correct and complete.
__________________
(Signature of Applicant) Date
Page 2 of 2
STATE OF ILLINOIS
DEPARTMENT OF Financial & PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
DIVISION OF FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS
LICENSEE BOND
Payday Loan Reform Act
KNOW ALL MEN BY THESE PRESENTS, That_____________________________________________________________
as surety, are held and firmly bound unto the Division of Financial Institutions, for the use of the State and of any person or persons who may have a cause of action against the obligors of this instrument, under the provisions of the Act hereinafter described, in the penal sum of for the period from this date_________________________ to December 31, ________, for the payment of which, well and truly to be made, we bind ourselves, our heirs, executors, administrators, successors and assigns, jointly and severally, firmly by these presents.
Witness our hands and seals this day of , A.D.______
The condition of the above obligation is such that the above
Corporate or Company Name has applied for a license for the term ending December 31, 20____, to transact the business of making loans in accordance with the provisions of the Illinois Payday Loan Reform Act.
Now, if the said______________________________________________________________________
Corporate or Company Name
shall, upon issuance of said license as aforesaid, faithfully conform to and abide by each and every provision of said Act and of all rules, regulations and directions lawfully made by the Director of Financial Institutions, and will pay to the State and to any person or persons from said obligors, under and by virtue of the provisions of said Act, then this obligation to be void, otherwise to remain in full force and effect.
___________________________________
Corporate or Company Name
By_________________________________
President, Owner or Partner
By_________________________________
Secretary, Owner or Partner
__________________________________
Surety or Bonding Company
By_________________________________
Illinois Attorney-in-Fact
(Attach Power of Attorney)
State of Illinois
Department of Financial & PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
DIVISION OF FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS appointment of attorney-in-fact for service of process know all men by these presents:
incumbent Director of the Division of Financial Institutions of the State of Illinois and his/her successors in office, or any official who shall hereafter be charged with the administration of the Payday Loan Reform Act, its attorney-in-fact upon whom all processes of law against it arising out of any transaction under the Payday Loan Reform Act may be served. The appointment of the Director of Financial Institutions as attorney-in-fact is conditional upon the issuing of a license to conduct a business of making loans under the Payday Loan Reform Act and in the event that a license is not granted, this appointment shall remain in full force and effect and may not be revoked except by consent of the Director of Financial Institutions. In the event that the license of said applicant is revoked, surrendered or otherwise terminated, the appointment of the Director of Financial Institutions as attorney-in-fact to accept service of process shall continue until such time as all matters arising out of the conduct of said licensee’s business in this state shall have been concluded.
IN WITNESS WHEREOF, the applicant has set his hand and seal in the City of State of ,
CURO, a publicly traded lender, originates $1 Billion dollars [+/-] in consumer loans every 3 months. They have approximately a 3% market share. What's this mean for you? OPPORTUNITY!
The near-prime will soon be the subprime. Demand for loans of $500 to $5000+ continues to escalate. Opportunities are boundless for lenders.
As a lender, your inventory is MONEY! Not tulips dying. Not bananas rotting. The 99% will ALWAYS need money. Debt is the reality of living in America.
What do we do? We teach entrepreneurs how to lend money to the Masses. We lend money. We offer Courses, consulting, investments, access to our vast network of vendors, lawyers, Instant Bank Verification, payment processors, website designers, and underwriting...
We are 100% focused on the business of lending to the masses! Installment loans, car title loans, payday loans, line of credit loans...